• Dignity for ALL Students Act (DASA)

    The East Ramapo Central School District will not tolerate incidents of discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, or bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function by students and/or school employees.

    The Dignity Act was signed into law on September 13, 2010 and took effect on July 1, 2012. Amendments to the act are effective as of July 1, 2013. 

    The original legislation amended State Education Law by creating a new Article 2 – Dignity for All Students.  The Dignity Act also amended Section 801-a of New York State Education Law regarding instruction in civility, citizenship, and character education by expanding the concepts of tolerance, respect for others and dignity to include: an awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people, including but not limited to, different races, weights, national origins, ethnic groups, religions, religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexual orientations, gender identity, and sexes. The Dignity Act further amended Section 2801 of the Education Law by requiring Boards of Education to include language addressing The Dignity Act in their codes of conduct.

    Additionally, under the Dignity Act, schools will be responsible for collecting and reporting data regarding material incidents of discrimination and harassment.

    In compliance with Education Law §13(3), at least one staff member at every school must be thoroughly trained in human relations in the areas of race, color, weight, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability, sexual orientation, gender, and sex. This staff member should be referred to as the Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC).   


    DISTRICT/SCHOOL DIGNITY ACT CONTACTS

    Dr. Alex Marrero

    District DASA Coordinator

    amarrero@ercsd.org

    Barbara Grieco
    Carolyn (Kayla)Stimmel

    ECC Dignity Act Coordinators

    bgrieco@ercsd.org

    kstimmel@ercsd.org

    Astrid Johnson

    Samantha Scherer

    Jenny Slomiany

    Cindy Mercado

    Eldorado Dignity Act Coordinators

    ajohnson@ercsd.org

    sscherer@ercsd.org

    jslomiany@ercsd.org

    cmercado@ercsd.org 

    Ellen Andriello

    Ann Vergine

    Dina Halberstam

    Elmwood Dignity Act Coordinators

    eandriello@ercsd.org

    avergine@ercsd.org

    dhalberstam@ercsd.org 

    Carolyn Partridge

    Laura DeSimone

    Joanne Louis 

    Fleetwood Dignity Act Coordinators

    cpartridge@ercsd.org

    ldesimone@ercsd.org

     jlouis@ercsd.org 

    Patricia Smith

    Dr. Greg Donnis

    Grandview Dignity Act Coordinators

    psmith@ercsd.org

    gdonnis@ercsd.org 

    Hazel Ortiz

    Lyza Granata

    Sheila Hudson

    Hempstead Dignity Act Coordinators

    hortiz@ercsd.org

    lgranata@ercsd.org

    shudson@ercsd.org

    Jennifer Wilmoth

    Jessica Cintron

    Barbara Thomas

    Kakiat Dignity Act Coordinators

    jwilmoth@ercsd.org

    jcintron@ercsd.org

    bthomas@ercsd.org 

    Laura Dobson

    Eric Quail

    Bill Ryan

    Meryl Paul

    Lime Kiln Dignity Act Coordinators

    ldobson@ercsd.org

    equail@ercsd.org

    wryan@ercsd.org

    mpaul@ercsd.org

    Jacqueline Polanco-Fernandez

    Dr. Marie-Carmel Durandisse

    Margetts Dignity Act Coordinators

    jpolanco@ercsd.org

    mdurandisse@ercsd.org 

    Kim A. Hewlett

    Dr. Sara Trinchitella

    Cynthia Norman

    Summit Park Dignity Act Coordinators

    khewlett@ercsd.org

    strinchitella@ercsd.org

    cnorman@ercsd.org 

    Bernidette Grant

    Sandro D. Lamberti

    Chestnut Ridge Dignity Act Coordinator

    bgrant@ercsd.org

    slamberti@ercsd.org

    Angela Alexander

    Tanya Brightly

    Fitzgerald Georges

    Pomona Dignity Act Coordinators

    aalexander@ercsd.org

    tbrightly@ercsd.org

    fgeorges@ercsd.org 

    Michael Phillips

    Altagracia Dominguez

    Dr. Robin Lewitas

    Ramapo Dignity Act Coordinators

    mphillips@ercsd.org

    adominguez@ercsd.org

    rlewitas@ercsd.org

    Karen Pinel

    Dr. Dionne Olamiju

    Spring Valley Dignity Act Coordinators

    kpinel@ercsd.org

    dolamiju@ercsd.org


    Dignity Act Coordinator Responsibilities
    :

    • Supporting the staff in deciding if the incident falls under the DASA law
    • Helping the staff, parent, student to fill out the DASA form
    • Collaborating with the Principal, Assistant Principal, and School Counselors to conduct investigations and create interventions for the alleged victim and offender
    • Track the DASA related incidents on a DASA spreadsheet
    • DASA Report forms should be kept in a DASA binder, alphabetized by the alleged victim  

    CODE OF CONDUCT

    New York State Department of Education

    http://www.p12.nysed.gov/dignityact/


    Click on the link for more information on the Dignity Act