• Dignity for ALL Students Act (DASA)

    The East Ramapo Central School District will not tolerate incidents of discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, or bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function by students and/or school employees.

    The Dignity Act was signed into law on September 13, 2010 and took effect on July 1, 2012. Amendments to the act are effective as of July 1, 2013. 

    The original legislation amended State Education Law by creating a new Article 2 – Dignity for All Students.  The Dignity Act also amended Section 801-a of New York State Education Law regarding instruction in civility, citizenship, and character education by expanding the concepts of tolerance, respect for others and dignity to include: an awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people, including but not limited to, different races, weights, national origins, ethnic groups, religions, religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexual orientations, gender identity, and sexes. The Dignity Act further amended Section 2801 of the Education Law by requiring Boards of Education to include language addressing The Dignity Act in their codes of conduct.

    Additionally, under the Dignity Act, schools will be responsible for collecting and reporting data regarding material incidents of discrimination and harassment.

    In compliance with Education Law §13(3), at least one staff member at every school must be thoroughly trained in human relations in the areas of race, color, weight, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability, sexual orientation, gender, and sex. This staff member should be referred to as the Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC).  

    District Dignity Act Coordinator: Dr. Augustina West

    Dignity Act Building Coordinator Responsibilities:

    • Supporting the staff in deciding if the incident falls under the DASA law
    • Helping the staff, parent, student to fill out the DASA form
    • Collaborating with the Principal, Assistant Principal, and School Counselors to conduct investigations and create interventions for the alleged victim and offender
    • Track the DASA related incidents on a DASA spreadsheet
    • DASA Report forms should be kept in a DASA binder, alphabetized by the alleged victim  

    Dignity Act School Building Coordinators

    Building

    Coordinator

    Contact Info

    Eldorado

    Principal Fitzgerald Georges

    Jenny Slomiany, Frances Madera, Cindy Mercado

    fgeorges@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6150

    Elmwood

    Principal Ellen Andriello

    Ann Vergine, Mark Goracy, Pamela D’Apice-White

    eandriello@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6160

    Fleetwood

    Principal Carolyn Fields

    Joanne Louis, Laura DeSimone, Kayla Stimmel

    cfields@ercsd.org
    p: (845) 577-6170

    Grandview

    Principal Patricia Smith

    Greg Donnis, Katelyn Senise

    psmith@ercsd.org
    p: (845) 577-6260

    Hempstead

    Principal Hazel Ortiz

    Lyza Granata, Beatriz Munoz, Felicia Vaccaro

    haortiz@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6270

    Kakiat

    Principal Jennifer Wilmoth

    Jessica Cintron, Barbara Thomas, Douglas Doller

    jwilmoth@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6100

    Lime Kiln

    Principal Laura Dobson

    Diana Kelly, Maria Petrella, Eric Quail, Bill Ryan

    ldobson@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6280

    Margetts

    Principal Jacqueline Polanco

    Marie-Carmel Durandisse

    jpolanco@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6190

    Summit Park

    Principal Jessica Alexander

    Cynthia Norman, Raquel Nieves, Marissa Cavellero

    jalexander@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6290

    ECC

    Principal Tiffane Barrow

    Alicia Wigger

    tbarrow@ercsd.org

    p: 845-577-6585

    Chestnut Ridge MS

    Principal Holly Zuber-Banks

    Howard Buchman, Yolanda Gardner, Bernidette Grant

    hzuber@ercsd.org

    p: 845-577-6300

    Pomona MS

    Principal Angela Alexander

    Jonathan Bravo, Tanya Brightly, Barbara Jean, Marisa Polansky, Adrianny Rodriguez

    aalexander@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6200

    Ramapo HS

    Principal Michael Phillips

    Robin Lewitas, Karissa Sullivan

    mphillips@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6400

    Spring Valley HS

    Principal Karen Pinel

    Dr. Dionne Olamiju, Dr. Dara Tippit

    kpinel@ercsd.org

    p: (845) 577-6500


    DASA LINKS

    New York State Department of Education
    http://www.p12.nysed.gov/dignityact/

    NYSED Online Training for Educators on Recognizing and Preventing Cyberbullying
    https://www.p12.nysed.gov/sss/cyberbully/

    The Crown Act
    http://www.nysed.gov/common/nysed/files/programs/student-support-services/understanding-crown-act.pdf