• About East Ramapo


    As a unified community, the East Ramapo Central School District is committed to educating the whole child by providing a healthy, safe, supportive, engaging and challenging learning environment.


    We will become proficient in all that we do.

    Our Shared Values:

    In everything we do, we motivate. facilitate. and reinforce:

    1. Trust and open communication
    2. Confidence
    3. Collaborative relationships
    4. Mutual respect and ethical behavior
    5. Diversity and inclusiveness
    6. Excellence


    The East Ramapo Central School District, located in Rockland County, New York, is an urban/suburban school district that serves over 37,000 students from 47 countries and various socio-economic backgrounds. The District serves students in the Towns of Ramapo, Clarkstown and Haverstraw.

    East Ramapo is designated by the New York State Education Department as a High Needs/Low Resource school district, and is committed to meet the multiple needs of its students, who are from varied backgrounds and cultures, and mostly from low income level families.

    The District is governed by a nine-member elected Board of Education.

    Grade Configuration

    The elementary level comprises nine schools.  There are four primary schools which serve students in Grades K-3, and one which serves Grades K-6.  Three intermediate schools serve Grades 4-6.   A STEAM Academy has students from Grades 4-8, and an Early Childhood Development Center serves most of the District’s Kindergarten students.

    At the secondary level there are two middle schools with Grades 7-8  and two high schools Grades 9-12.


District News Archive